Blueberry Muffin Smoothie

Do you ever have those mornings when all you want is something to satisfy your sweet tooth? You consider running to the donut shop or the local coffee joint for that sugary pastry or drink, but you tell yourself you shouldn’t. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, after all, and it should be a healthy one, right? While I am a fan of the occasional morning confection, I’m all for finding healthy ways to satisfy the sweet cravings. And I have found a smoothie that does just that: my blueberry muffin smoothie.

Full of fruits, protein, healthy fats, and with the potential to add vegetables, this recipe is not only nutrient dense, but incredibly delicious, too! It only takes about five minutes to throw together and it’s a great on-the-go breakfast, something I am incredibly fond of as I don’t always have time to sit down and eat. Also, coming into the hot summer months here in Colorado, I often don’t feel like cooking, so a smoothie is a great way to beat the heat, but still get in a satisfying breakfast.

img_1217.jpg

So what does it take to make this smoothie taste like a blueberry muffin? Here’s the recipe:

  • 3/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 frozen banana (preferably very ripe)
  • 2 tbsp Wild Friends sugar cookie peanut butter (it’s only sold here in the winter, but you can find it here when not in season)
  • 1/4-1/3 scoop of MRM Veggie Protein- Vanilla (find it here)
  • 1/2 tsp honey (I use local for the allergy benefits)
  • 1 handful baby spinach (or whatever leafy green you like!)
  • 3/4 cup Califia Farms unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or milk of choice)

Throw it all in the blender, and blend! I highly recommend putting it in the blender in the order I have listed for easier blending, but each blender is different, so do what works for you!IMG_1220

This recipe is for a single serving. I personally use my Nutri Ninja Blender with Auto-IQ boost (find it here). The blender came with the single-serving size, the full blender, and the Nutri Bowl option. It’s literally the best blender I’ve ever owned, perfect for those of us who can’t quite justify spending the money for the coveted Vitamix blenders. Plus, seeing as I usually make smoothies just for myself, it’s easy to just make single-servings. However, you can adjust this recipe to feed as may people as you’d like.

One of my favorite things about this recipe, beyond the fact that it legitimately tastes like a blueberry muffin, is the fact that it’s relatively versatile. You can use any honey, any milk-base, any vanilla protein powder, and whatever vegetables you’d like, as long as you stick with the blueberry, banana, and sugar cookie peanut butter base. I’ve personally tried it with dairy milk and coconut milk as well, and used kale instead of spinach, and it all tasted very similar. My one main suggestion would be to stick with the Wild Friends sugar cookie peanut butter, as the flavor is incredible and the ingredients are super clean. img_1223.jpg

I hope you all enjoy this healthy version of a breakfast favorite! I would love to hear if you try it and what you think, as well as any modifications you have made!

 

Leave a Reply

